Gatekeepers of Governance (2016)

The Companies Act, 2013 has a number of statutory provisions which directly impact on Corporate Governance. Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) through its Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements (LODR) Regulations, 2015 has further raised the bar. The legitimate expectation levels of stakeholders in regard to Corporate Governance have significantly increased and are being articulated. This has also led to enhanced shareholder activism. The box-ticking exercise, which earlier passed for compliance, is no longer par for the course.

The Third annual two day Summit, GATEKEEPERS OF GOVERNANCE, has been planned as a series of sessions which seek to address different aspects of Corporate Governance on the basis of the experience of the last few years. The increasing acceptance of Corporate Governance practices as value enhancers on a sustainable basis has to be advocated and driven by persons who see themselves as change agents on a mission. They are the true Gatekeepers of Governance, in that they facilitate the acceptance and adoption of good practices while keeping out what is undesirable and unproductive. This Summit is a clarion call to the Gatekeepers of Governance to spread the message that good governance is a necessary condition for sustained performance in increasingly competitive times.

Date: 17th – 18th November, 2016 Venue: Hotel Trident, Bandra Kurla Complex, Mumbai


Registration :- 9am – 9.45am
Inaugural Session :- 10am – 11am
Conflict of Interest – Games People Play :- 11.15am – 12noon
Stakeholders – Burnt at the Stake? :- 12.15pm – 1.15pm
Who has the answers? :- 2.15pm - 2.35pm
RPTs – At Arms Length or In Harm’s Way? :- 2.35pm – 3.35pm
Succession Planning – Too little, too late? :- 3.50pm – 4.50pm
Class Action Suits – Revenge of the Masses :- 5.05pm – 6.05pm
Ustaad Ek Awaaz Do
a musical presentation by Mr. Sairam S. Iyer
:- 7pm – 8pm
Cocktails and Dinner :- 8pm onwards
Plenary Session - Corporate Governance – Walking the Talk :- 9.45am – 11am
Start ups and Governance – The Investors’ Insights :- 11.15am – 12.15pm
Business and Regulation – The Tight Rope Walk :- 12.30pm – 1.30pm
Cyber Security and Risk Management – Fear of the Unknown? :- 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Concluding remarks :- 3.30pm – 3.45pm


Confirmed speakers include (in alphabetical order)
Adi Godrej Chairman, Godrej Group Ajit Balakrishnan Chairman and CEO, Amit Chandra Managing Director, Bain Capital
Ashish Chauhan Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Bombay Stock Exchange Arun Tiwari Chairman and Managing Director, Union Bank of India Bala Deshpande Senior Managing Director, New Enterprise Associates (NEA)
Bharat Doshi Member of Board of RBI and Former Group CFO, M&M Chitra Ramkrishna Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, National Stock Exchange K C Chakrabarty Former Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India
Leo Puri Managing Director, UTI Asset Management M Damodaran Chairperson, Excellence Enablers, Managing Trustee, Non-Executive Directors in Conversation Trust (NEDICT) and Former Chairman, SEBI, UTI and IDBI M. K. Sharma Chairman, ICICI Bank and former Vice Chairman, HUL
M M Chitale Managing Partner, Mukund M Chitale & Co., Past President, Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI) and Former Chairman, National Advisory Committee on Accounting Standards (NACAS) N R Madhava Menon Founder Director, National Law School of Indian University, Bengaluru and  National Judicial Academy, Bhopal and Founder Vice Chancellor, West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences Nawshir Mirza Independent Non-Executive Director on Boards and Former Senior Partner, M/s S. R. Batliboi & Co.
O P Bhatt Independent Non-Executive Director on Boards and Former Chairman, State Bank of India Pawan Munjal Chairman, Managing Director & CEO, Hero Motocorp R Seshasayee Chairman, Infosys and IndusInd Bank and Vice Chairman, Hinduja Group
Rama Bijapurkar Thought leader and Management Consultant S Sandilya Chairman, Eicher Group Sanjeev Bikhchandani Founder and Executive Vice Chairman, Info Edge
Sanjeev Aga Independent Non-Executive Director on Boards and Former Managing Director, Idea Cellular Shailesh Haribhakti Chairman, DH Consultants and Managing Partner, Haribhakti & Co. Shardul Shroff Executive Chairman, Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas & Co.
Sunil Kant Munjal Chairman, Hero Corporate Service Suresh Senapaty Former Chief Financial Officer, Wipro T S Vijayan Chairman, Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India (IRDAI)
Tajinder Singh Deputy Secretary General, International Organization of Securities Commission (IOSCO) V Sumantran Former Vice Chairman, Ashok Leyland and Hinduja Automotive Vikram Singh Mehta Chairman, Brookings India and Former CEO, Shell India
Vinita Bali Independent Non-Executive Director on Boards and Former Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Britannia Industries Y H Malegam Chairman, National Advisory Committee on Accounting Standards and Former Member of Board, Reserve Bank of India



Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors


For further information, please contact

Ms. Divyani Garg Email : Mobile : +91 9650012066